gardening, sprouting new seeds

The Mango Experiment Part 2

We all want progress, but if you’re on the wrong road, progress means doing an about-turn and walking back to the right road; in that case, the man who turns back soonest is the most progressive.
C. S. Lewis

A few weeks ago, July 12 to be exact, I showed you part one of the Mango experiment.

20130803-091017.jpgWell I checked its progress a few days later and found no progress except for the deterioration of the paper bag. I exchanged it for a wet paper towel and returned it to the window.

Today I checked the seed again and found the slightest sign of a sprout. I reasoned that the paper towel was getting old and thought it best to replace it. 20130803-092748.jpgLet’s see how it progresses now. If the sprout grows some more, I will be placing it in soil. The next part of the experiment will include researching soil, potential pests, sun needs, and water requirements.

Stay tuned for more on this Mango seed’s progress. In upcoming entries you will also learn how I have been saving seeds (I gave you the ‘why’ in my article titled “I am an Heirloom Gardener on foreign soil”) from store bought produce, as well as how to sprout a Pineapple (I’ve been doing it wrong for years!).

Keep going, keep growing, and thank you again to my faithful readers who have been keeping up with me and my urban garden. Comments are always welcomed. Thank you!

Marissa

Leave a Reply

