How I Wound up EATING Flowers

YOU DO NOT LIKE THEM. SO YOU SAY.
TRY THEM! TRY THEM! AND YOU MAY.
TRY THEM AND YOU MAY, I SAY.

SAM! IF YOU LET ME BE,
I WILL TRY THEM. YOU WILL SEE.

Dr. Seuss “Green Eggs and Ham”

It has been a busy week to say the least and I’ve been waiting anxiously to tell you about my most recent Farmer’s Market Finds. You know by now that every visit I will find something purple to place in the basket. Here it is:

DSC03234 Some of you know this fruit already but for those of you who don’t–it’s a Dragon Fruit. Dragon Fruit may be this hot pink hue (okay, it’s close to purple), others may be a sunny yellow, and usually the fruit inside is even more vibrant than the outer skin. Some even have greyish fruit. Here’s what mine looked like:

DSC03236 I think it’s purple.

So here is something interesting about the Dragon Fruit; it doesn’t originate in Asia. It is actually a South American Cactus-like plant that was at some point imported to Asia and is now very popular in all the Asian Countries as well as Israel. I first saw this fruit on my friend Jessa’s blog www.shalomsweethome.com .

To eat, cut it in half and scoop out the center with a spoon the way you would a Kiwi. It is delicious. It doesn’t taste exactly like a Kiwi but the fruit flavor and texture is strikingly similar and you get to eat more of it (my favorite part). Another one of my favorite bloggers features a recipe using the Dragon Fruit here: http://naturallydiy.com/2013/07/16/dragon-fruit-salad/

As I was so intrigued by this fruit at the market and eager to give it a taste, I also found this item in the same bin:

20130721-113800.jpg Was it a dragon fruit relative? Was it another fruit entirely? Was it a vegetable? Would I eat it here or there? Would I eat it anywhere?

I pried it open to see what was inside.

20130721-113819.jpg It appeared to be a flower. Could I, Would I, Should I eat this thing?

I made a hypothesis that it could be a Dragon Fruit Flower. I wasn’t sure if it was or what parts were edible and this concerned me. I googled and oogled. It seemed like it could be a Dragon Fruit Flower but I didn’t find many pictures of the flower bud from the outside or in this state. I couldn’t find credible sources. One of my blogger friends (www.naturallydiy.com) helped me out with her research and sent me a picture of a dragon fruit flower she saw at a botanical garden. So now that I had narrowed down what this was, I needed to find out how to use it.

The most information I could find in English about preparing it was on the website http://okinawaislandproduce.com/. There are two to three options for preparing this vegetable. The bud itself can be cooked as a vegetable such as in boiling water or a broth. The flower can be fried, sautéed or steeped as a tea. I used the two recipes from the site. The boiled vegetable went into a chicken broth for a soup and the sautéed flower was cooked with soy sauce and chili peppers. The sautéed flower was the one I liked better–to me it tasted like a mild cheese.

Here is what it looked like:

DSC03239 Cut up flower bud for cooking as a vegetable.

DSC03240Isolated flower ready for sautéing.

DSC03241 Into the skillet. DSC03242 It looks lovely browned. DSC03243I forgot to take a picture of it on my plate. I am sorry. I actually liked it though. DSC03244 Here is what it looked like after being boiled as a vegetable. The flavor is mild-it actually had very little flavor to me.

DSC03245Here it is in my soup with some purple okra!

The next day, I attended a local botanical garden with my husband and saw for myself what this mysterious Dragon Fruit Plant looked like.

DSC03302 DSC03301 DSC03299 DSC03297 DSC03296

So now you know how I wound up eating flowers.

I DO! I LIKE THEM, SAM-I-AM!

AND I WILL EAT THEM HERE AND THERE.
SAY! I WILL EAT THEM ANYWHERE!

-Dr. Seuss “Green Eggs and Ham”

4 thoughts on “How I Wound up EATING Flowers

  1. Fantastic!!! I’m so glad you got to see the flowers in bloom! I love that you cooked it up in different ways. Now I’m hungry for flowers. =) Thank you so much for the link-love too!

  2. Nice article. One point – it is always better to be absolutely positive on the identity of a plant before eating it. Many plants are toxic or need to be prepared the correct way. Guessing should never be an option. If you don’t know don’t eat it. I would much prefer reading more of your blogs ! Really !

    • Your point is whole-heartily acknowledged. That’s why I waited a couple days to eat it; I was searching for credible sources which wasn’t easy with the language differences. I am so glad you stopped by to read my blog! Thank you and welcome!

Leave a Reply

