when in Okinawa

When In Okinawa, Get a Pedicure

There are moments to indulge and enjoy, but I always know when it’s time to go home and wash my knickers.

-Kate Winslet

I was going to quote another actress who once said, “it is good to indulge now and again,” but I thought Kate’s words were far better!

Here is a confession: I have never gotten a Pedicure, until today. Sure, I have painted my own toes, used nail buffers, foot scrubs, and peppermint lotion like many homemade pedicures can include; but I never indulged in a professional Pedi. I could do it myself and had no reason to justify spoiling myself.

Then I moved to Okinawa and witnessed first hand the beauty of toe art. All over the island women sported toe nails as Devine accessories the way gals sport handbags and shoes in the states. I never thought I would ever be a fan of busy toe paint until I saw the “Monets” that graced pretty little American and Japanese toes alike all around me. It didn’t take long for me to decide to indulge in this little luxury (which would cost much more in the states I might add).

What did I have to lose? Now that I’m not at a teaching job stateside, or in college, I hardly ever eat out, have not been feeding a Starbucks addiction, don’t have to pay PTO to wear jeans, don’t have to “donate” money to our team party fund, have not been to the movies, or feel obligated to buy donuts for Friday. I feel no guilt indulging in a Pedicure at long last. So Kaity and I (remember my partner in crime who took me to Yoho?) got our toes done.

“What on earth does this have to do with gardening?” you might ask… Take a look:

20130529-155249.jpg
Each toe nail is painted with white flowers that are tinged with hints of orange and deep green leaves swirling around over a bright green background. Yes, I have garden toes.

20130529-160759.jpg
Now that I have had this fun, I’m going to do some laundry; or as Kate says, “wash my knickers!” Perhaps I will put on a Kate Winslet movie while I’m at it. More garden news to come later.

Keep on blooming,
Marissa

1 thought on “When In Okinawa, Get a Pedicure”

  1. Your style is really unique in comparison to other folks I have read stuff from. Many thanks for posting when you’ve got the opportunity, Guess I will just bookmark this site.

Leave a Reply

