Keep a record of when you fertilize so you won’t forget when to fertilize again (lots of pictures)

Had a good and busy day in the garden today and yesterday:

20130423-195628.jpg

I added a couple more flower plants in this entry bed.

20130423-195822.jpg

I added some flowers to this spot as well. In this area I also buried fertilizers around the first 9 Hibiscus bushes. I learned through my research that Hibiscus plants need approximately three parts potassium, two parts nitrogen, and one small part phosphorous. I used banana peels and coffee grounds as I’ve heard old gardeners sometimes do.

20130423-200907.jpg

Here I planted Lemon Balm which is a yummy smelling herb. I have heard Mosquitos aren’t big fans of this plant which makes it appealing to me. Since it is like a mint, I have it in a self watering container as these herbs like a little more moisture than most. I sprinkled some slow release fertilizer in with it.

20130423-201440.jpg

Here I have three pepper plants in a box that can fit 8 pepper plants. The first two on the left are jalapeño transplants I bought here in Okinawa a week ago, the third is a colorful pepper plant I bought today (the label reads “okinawa vegetable”), and the next plants will be the seeds I started. I sprinkled slow release fertilizer around the plants.

20130423-202018.jpg

In this shallow clay pot I lined the bottom of the container with a coffee filter and drainage stones. Most herbs (mint being the exception) are Mediterranean and like a hot dry climate. This means you must make the pots as moisture wicking as you can. For this arrangement I chose two thyme plants, chamomile, and a melampodem flower (common herb and vegetable companion in Pamela Crawford’s container series). I also used slow release fertilizer in this container.

20130423-203229.jpg

Here I also used the drainage stones so that this Basil will be especially tasty. I only planted a single impatiens flower as it is flexible with sun or shade and it won’t take long for the Boxwood Basil to get BIG. Slow release fertilizer was added to this one as well.

20130423-204449.jpg

Here I have an okra plant I found in the 45 yen bin and I couldn’t be happier about this one. I really hope I have success with okra this year. With it I planted some gorgeous, tiny petunias and sprinkled some white petunia seed around the empty space. The petunia/okra combo is also featured in Pamela Crawford’s container series. Slow release fertilizer was added.

20130423-205300.jpg

Here I have a lavender plant in which I left open space to plant seeds in hopes some flowers will spring up and accompany this fragrant plant. The seeds I chose are white petunia, purple salvia, and chamomile. Slow release fertilizer was added.

20130423-205903.jpg

I can hardly wait to harvest delicious food from this garden and watch my flowers bloom.

20130423-210233.jpg

As for the “Eesa-Fuji”, after observing it I noticed all of the flowers dropped when it didn’t get very much light. I also noticed that it is in a quick drying soil and as I kept it in partial sun it seemed to become greener. I wanted to plant low growing, dainty purple flowers and these where the only ones I found. I will continue to watch its progress.

20130423-211002.jpg

If following in the advice of fertilizing every three months, most of my plants will be due for a feeding in late July. Happy Gardening!

Marissa

One thought on “Keep a record of when you fertilize so you won’t forget when to fertilize again (lots of pictures)

Leave a Reply

